mouse.png

Walt Disney was one scary guy.

By Tony Sokol

Creepy Pasta, it’s delicious but leaves a paranoid aftertaste. My kids love it. I love it. CreepyPasta.com is a place we come together to discuss and expand. We take apart their brilliantly skewered theories.Things never look the same again after reading the Creepy Pasta breakdown. Take “Courage the Cowardly Dog.” Once Creepy Pasta got it into our heads that Eustace and Muriel Bagge were dead meat puppets guided by the strings of the Great Fusilli, a creepy pasta himself, and the remainder of the show took place in Courage’s traumatized imagination, it became a different show entirely. Sure, not all the hypotheses worked out. Courage didn’t stop talking entirelly for the rest of the series, but we went with it. Happily. Hungrily.

The other night I was up very late, watching TV. One of my daughters came out of her bedroom, sat down next to me. “Hey baby,” I said. “It’s late. You got school in the morning.” “Yeah,” she said, “can’t sleep.” We watched some cheesy late-night TV and she admitted “I can’t get ‘Suicide Mouse’ out of my head.” “You know it’s not true,” I assured her. “I know. It’s the face.” Yeah. The face of Mickey Mouse. That mouse is very scary in our house. I offered to sleep next to her and she said “Sure, but can we watch `Suicide Mouse’ again first?” Which version? The Shaky version.

Suicide Mouse is an urban legend. Whether it was started by Creepy Pasta or perpetuated by it, I haven’t been able to get to the bottom of yet. T. Casey Brennan, famed for his “Vampirella” comic book series, sent me the Creepy Pasta link. The legend says Walt Disney, inspired by “Un Chien Andalou” (“An Andalusian Dog”) by Luis Bunuel and Salvador Dali, made an impressionistic, surrealistic animated short called “Un Souris Andalou” in 1931. The movie shows Mickey Mouse walking past a loop of the same four buildings while a slowed and backward piano plays on the soundtrack.

After six minutes, the screen goes black. The film became known as “Suicide Mouse” because, according to Creepy Pasta, Leonard Maltin was watching a copy of the long-lost film in order to decide whether to include it in a Disney anthology DVD.

On the seventh minute the soundtrack is replaced by screams. Mickey is traversing the street in a seemingly impossible way, defying all logic but cartoon logic. Creepy Pasta then says “Colors were happening that shouldn’t have been possible at the time. Mickey’s face began to fall apart. his eyes rolled on the bottom of his chin like two marbles in a fishbowl, and his curled smile was pointing upward on the left side of his face.” Maltin got upset, left the room and let an assistant watch the last thirty seconds.

Creepy Pasta quotes its “source” as saying “This happened for about 30 seconds, and whatever was in that remaining 30 seconds I haven’t been able to get a sliver of information about. From a security guard working under me who was making rounds outside of that room, I was told that after the last frame, the employee stumbled out of the room with pale skin saying ‘Real suffering is not known’ seven times before speedily taking the guard’s pistol and offing himself on the spot.”

The source said Maltin told him that the last frame of the film was in Russian. Roughly translated, it says “the sights of hell bring its viewers back in.”

TR, the otherwise anonymous source who first broke the “Suicide Mouse” story conclude “Whether it got online or not is up for debate, but if rumors serve me right, it’s online somewhere under ‘suicidemouse.avi.’ If you ever find a copy of the film, I want you to never view it, and to contact me by phone immediately, regardless of the time. When a Disney Death is covered up as well as this, it means this has to be something huge. … I’ve yet to find a copy of this, but it is out there. I know it.”

There are three versions, all included here, of “Suicide Mouse” on YouTube that have been animated based on the Creepy Pasta description.

Thank you CreepyPasta.com for keeping my kids up at night.

